Sexual Harrassment Training
The #MeTooMovement has brought a high awareness on sexual harassment in the workplace. The state of California now requires businesses with 5 or more employees, which includes independent contractors and temporary employees in that number, to have Sexual Harassment training every 2 years. AB1825 requires one-hour training for non-managers and two hours for managers. California required completion of training by 1.1.2021. If you have not completed the trainings yet here is a link to a “free” training through the Department of Fair Employment and Housing.
Even though there was a drop in the number of sexual harassment cases last year, the monetary costs increased. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) stated that cases settled, were at nearly $70 million, much higher than previous years.
EEOC data on Sexual Harassment over the past 3 years:
Sexual Harassment includes hostile workplace and bullying. A survey taken in 2017 on bullying in the workplace shows:
- 14.5 million American workers stated they were being bullied
- 15.4 million American workers stated, they had been the victims of workplace bullying before, but not in 2017
- 23 million American workers witnessed workplace bullying
- 7.5 million American workers know it has happened to others.
In order to avoid costly lawsuits, it is important to schedule trainings, now, for your employees.
For more HR laws information contact:
KuhelBreez HR Consultant